Siirry pääsisältöön
Näyttää siltä, että selaimesi on Internet Explorer 11 tai vanhempi. Selainta ei tueta, joten käytä muuta selainta.

esports: Books

KAMK Finna

You can use KAMK Finna to locate library's printed collection and ebooks.

KAMK Finna logo

By logging in with your KamIT-account, you can renew your loans and make reservations. You will also gain access to licensed databases and ebook services via remote use.

Dictionaries

Books from Ebook Central and books on KAMK-Finna

Video Game Law

Video Game Law is aimed at game developers and industry professionals who want to better understand the industry or are in need of expert legal guidance. Given the rise in international competition, the increasing complexity of video game features, and the explosive growth of the industry in general, game developers can quickly find themselves in serious trouble, becoming vulnerable to copyright infringement claims, piracy, and even security breaches. Not every video game company has the financial resources to retain in-house counsel, which Video Game Law seeks to address by discussing many of the common pitfalls, legal questions, and scenarios facing the industry. S. Gregory Boyd, Sean F. Kane, and Brian Pyne, the most prominent, sought after, and respected video game attorneys in the country, break down the laws and legal concepts that every game developer and industry professional needs to know in order to protect their game and grow their company.

The Book of Esports

Join gaming luminary William Collis as he charts the rise of this exciting new industry, for the first time ever crafting a comprehensive overview of esports and its implications for human competition--and even the future of humanity itself.
Almost overnight, esports--or competitive video games--have exploded into the largest entertainment and sporting phenomenon in human history. But what exactly are esports? How did they become so popular so quickly? And where exactly is all this video gaming headed?

Whether you are a lifelong gamer, a curious Fortnite parent, or a businessperson seeking to understand the marketing opportunities of this multibillion-dollar phenomenon, THE BOOK OF ESPORTS is the definitive guide to understanding all that the modern world of competitive gaming has to offer, and The Official History of Esports(TM) itself.

Ever wonder what it's like to be a pro gamer? How to create a billion-dollar esports business? Or just curious if video games can really get your kid into college? (All expenses paid, of course.) This book answers all these questions and more Featuring select interviews from the biggest names in the industry, The Book of Esports weaves tales of trust, betrayal, and superhuman reflexes into predictive frameworks, explaining exactly why our industry looks the way it does, and how all this growth--and more--is inevitable as the divide between man and machine blurs into oblivion.

Detailed and accessible, and written by a lifelong gamer and Harvard MBA who has painstakingly translated esports' mysteries into a testament for today, everyone can enjoy The Book of Esports because everyone should enjoy esports. So what are you waiting for? Take the wildest ride into worlds unreal, and discover that true human competition is always just a click away.

The Invisible Game

Competitive gaming and eSports among youths became a major theme these days. For a professional gamer, having the best strategy or belonging to a team with the best skills are sometimes not enough for success. Real life tournaments are tougher than we can imagine.
The Invisible Game covers the necessary mental development of eSport players. The book helps to prepare the players' minds for the challenges, both on the map and in real life.

We overestimate the power of our daily thoughts, and we forget the potential of our inner wisdom. This book guides you with honest life experiences of an eSport team manager on a journey to find the mental balance for peak performance.

Korea's Online Gaming Empire

The rapid growth of the Korean online game industry, viewed in social, cultural, and economic contexts. In South Korea, online gaming is a cultural phenomenon. Games are broadcast on television, professional gamers are celebrities, and youth culture is often identified with online gaming. Uniquely in the online games market, Korea not only dominates the local market but has also made its mark globally. In Korea's Online Gaming Empire, Dal Yong Jin examines the rapid growth of this industry from a political economy perspective, discussing it in social, cultural, and economic terms. Korea has the largest percentage of broadband subscribers of any country in the world, and Koreans spend increasing amounts of time and money on Internet-based games. Online gaming has become a mode of socializing--a channel for human relationships. The Korean online game industry has been a pioneer in software development and eSports (electronic sports and leagues). Jin discusses the policies of the Korean government that encouraged the development of online gaming both as a cutting-edge business and as a cultural touchstone; the impact of economic globalization; the relationship between online games and Korean society; and the future of the industry. He examines the rise of Korean online games in the global marketplace, the emergence of eSport as a youth culture phenomenon, the working conditions of professional gamers, the role of game fans as consumers, how Korea's local online game industry has become global, and whether these emerging firms have challenged the West's dominance in global markets.

This Is Esports (and How to Spell It)

From slapping coins down on arcade cabinets to the lights of Madison Square Garden, competitive video gaming has come a long way. Today, esports is a billion-dollar industry, the best players becoming stars in their own right, battling for eight-figure prizes in front of a global audience of tens of millions.

From Call of Duty to Counter-Strike, FIFA to Fortnite, a generation of players have turned multiplayer video games from a pastime into a profession. But there are questions. How did we get here? What exactly is competitive gaming – is it a sport? How much money do the top stars make? Do you really have to retire at 23? And just what the hell is Dota?

This is esports (and How to Spell it) addresses all of this and more, as award-winning broadcaster Paul 'Redeye' Chaloner takes you inside the unstoppable rise of pro gaming to reveal the bitter rivalries, scandals and untold history of esports, from origins to sold-out arenas. With his trademark wit – and unrivalled access – Paul delivers the definitive book on the fastest-growing entertainment phenomenon in the world today.

E-book Services

Ebook central logoEbook Central 

An interdisciplinary database of ebooks. The collection is available on KAMK's network or via remote use. Ebook Central delivers ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.

Ebook Central was selected by your library to provide authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.


Ellibs 

Ellibs Library is an Internet-based service which allows you to borrow electronic books online. You can borrow ebooks from your library's Ellibs collection or make reservations. Most of the books in Ellibs are in Finnish.

At the end of the loan period, the electronic book file closes automatically, but you can always return the book early if you are already done with it to make it available for the next customer.


 

DOAB palvelun logo

DOAB Directory of Open Access Books 

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.


GEM logo

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor Reports 

GEM began in 1999 as a joint research project between Babson College (USA) and London Business School (UK). The consortium has become the richest source of reliable information on the state of entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial ecosystems across the globe, publishing not only the GEM Global Report annually, but also a range of national and special topic reports each year. GEM’s first annual study covered 10 countries; since then some 115 countries from every corner of the globe have participated in GEM research. 


OAPEN Online Library and Publication Platform

Oapen logoOAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

Google Books

   

How to use e-resources

You can use the e-resources within KAMK's network and via remote access.

Students and staff can access the e-resources remotely by logging in with their KAMIT username.

How to use and read ebooks

  • The library acquires ebooks from multiple services.
  • Ebook readers and the copyright rules vary from service to service.
    • For instance some books can be read by a group of users and some can be only loaned by a person at a time.
    • Also only some books can be downloaded to be read offline.
  • Not all books available for a commercial buyer are available for libraries.
  • More info how to use ebooks you can find on LibGuide
  • Kajaanin ammattikorkeakoulu
  • PL 52, Ketunpolku 1
  • 87101 KAJAANI
  • kajaanin.amk@kamk.fi
  • Saavutettavuusseloste
-->