RefWorks guide: Write-N-Cite 4

Installing

1. In Refworks' toolbar, go to Tools and select Write-N-Cite. 
2. In Downloads you can see all the available versions of Write-N-Cite. You can find a Mac compatible version by selecting Other Versions -link. Select the version you need by clicking it. Notice that Word has to be closed when you install Write-N-Cite.

3. A popup window should open with "You have chosen to open..." pick Save File.
4. After the download finishes, click on the Windows logo on the bottom left corner of the screen and select Computer. Go to Downloads and find the downloaded Write-N-Cite file PQfWInstall.exe.
5. Doubleclick the exe-file and the installation will begin. Then select:
 

• Are you sure you want to run this software  > select Run
• The window will then show "Preparing to Install" and open the Installation Wizard.
• Next select: Next > Install > Finish

Problems in installing?

Be sure to have the latest version of MS-Office installed. Also the following programs should have their latest patches installed for the computer to be able to run Write-N-Cite installation:

• Microsoft .NET
• Visual Studio 2010 Tools for Office Runtime
• Java

Make sure that Word hasn't automatically disabled Write-N-Cite:

1. Open Word
2. Select File > Options > Add-ins.

• From the bottom of the window select: Manage COM Add-ins and click Go. Make sure that Write-N-Cite has been checked.
• From the bottom of the window select: Manage Disabled Items and click Go. Make sure that Write-N-Cite isn't on the list.

If these don't help you can also contact the RefWorks helpdesk directly at: refworks.support@proquest.com

Login

1. Open Word and select the Proquest -tab

2. Click Log in

3. Enter your User name and Password and click the Login-button. After you log in, the Proquest-tab should change into Refworks -tab. If you have made changes in your Refworks, you should also update your Write-N-Cite by clicking "Sync My Database" button.

4. Remember also to log out of WNC-programs with Log out.

Selecting the output style of your citation

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style-drop down. You will see a list of RefWorks' popular styles. Click on the style name or click Select Other Style at the bottom of the list to see your personal “favorites” or any output styles recommended by your organization (group favorites).

2. Click the name of the style you wish to use for your citations.
3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on Style and selecting a new output style.

Note:  if the output style you need for your paper is NOT in listed in the popular styles, favorites or group favorites, you will need to log in to your RefWorks account and add it using the Output Style Manager.  Once you add the style, you may need to sync Write-N-Cite to download the new style.  Click Sync My Database in the Extras area of Write-N-Cite to download the newly added style.

Inserting citations

1. Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box. If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option. You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option.

2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access references by folder search for a specific reference.  The search box will search every field of every reference.  You can use “AND” and “OR” when using the search box.
3. Right-clicking on the reference and choosing the item from the context menu will display the complete record (file attachments are not displayed).

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper. To add a second references in a single citation, click the + button in the Compose Citation area and then select the reference from your list.

The selected citations are shown in Compose Citation -box.

You can edit citations with Edit References. Make sure that the citation you wish to edit is selected in the Compose Citation  -box

• Hide Author - hides the author(s)
• Prefix - add text to the front of the citation
• Suffix - add text to the end of the citation

Deleting a citation

Deleting a citation from a list of citations:

1. Double click the citation you wish to edit to open the Insert/Edit Citation -window.
2. In Compose Citation -box, click the citation you wish to delete.
3. Remove the citation by clicking the - -icon.
4. Click OK. The bibliography will update automatically.

Removing a whole citation:

Write-N-Cite's Edit-option doesn't work in this case. Do as follows:

1. Delete the citation just like you do remove normal text in Word.
2. The bibliography doesn't update automatically, so you'll have to update it manually with Reapply Output Style.

Inserting a bibliography

You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing. The bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper.  

1. Click Bibliography Options > Insert Bibliography.
2. All references will be added automatically into the bibliography as you use them.

You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location. Do not use Word to delete the bibliography.