International Business: Articles and Databases

Different types of databases

Full-text databases include full text of the articles

Reference databases include bibliographic information about articles, but not the articles themselves

Citation databases include information on citations: how many times the article has been cited and by whom

Please note that most databases are combinations of these types. Some of the articles in the database can be read in fulltext and some are available only as abstracts.

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier. DOI is a permanent handle for the document. It is a string of numbers and letters that identifies an article online and makes them easy to locate. Even though the document's location changes, DOI is always able to locate the document it has been assigned to.

Not all articles have DOI numbers, but you can usually find the DOI number listed with the citation information or printed on the article itself on most commercial publishers. 

DOI numbers can be entered into crossref.org and the citation information will be provided.

KAMK Library subscribes for several databases from EBSCO. EBSCO is the leading provider of research databases, e-journal and e-package subscription management, book collection development and acquisition management, and a major provider of library technology, e-books and clinical decision solutions.

• EBSCO - Academic Search Complete  

  Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

• EBSCO - Business Source Ultimate 

Business Source Ultimate offers access to 3,655 active full-text journals, including many peer-reviewed publications. It spans various business topics, from current trends to historical information and global perspectives. It provides researchers with essential business journals such as Harvard Business Review, Forbes, and MIS Quarterly, plus business videos from top providers.

Business Source Ultimate includes 4,499 active indexed and abstracted journals. 3,346 of them are peer-reviewed.

• EBSCO - Computers and Applied Sciences 

The third largest database in the Applied Science & Technology database suite, Computers & Applied Sciences Complete is a full-text database covering computing, technology, and engineering disciplines.

• EBSCO - SPORTDiscus 

  SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

• ERIC 

  ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

• CINAHL with Full Text 

  CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.

Emerald Publishing is one of the world's leading digital-first publishers, commissioning, curating and showcasing research that can make a real difference.

• Emerald eJournals Premier 

Encompassing all 310 publications, eJournals Premier is the flagship collection from Emerald Publishing. A complete multi-disciplinary eJournal collection. It covers the following fields: accounting, business and management, economics, education, finance, hospitality, and human resources.

Publication Evaluation

Publication Forum (Jufo)

Publication Forum is a classification of publication channels created by the Finnish scientific community to support the quality assessment of academic research.

Publication Forum evaluates domestic and foreign academic publication channels.

• Level 1 includes peer-reviewed publication channels that are specialised in the publication of scientific research outcomes and have an editorial board of experts of the discipline.  The majority of all publication channels are classified as Level 1 which is the basic level.
• The Levels 2 and 3 are awarded to a limited number of academic journals, conferences and book publishers of the highest level and impact as judged by the Expert Panels. They are mostly international publication channels but in Humanities and Social Sciences, Level 2 also includes Finnish and Swedish-language forums. Level 2 is a leading publication and level 3 is top rank.
• Publication channels that have been evaluated but do not meet all of the Level 1 criteria are marked as category 0.

You will find the current classification via JUFO-portal.

International Affairs (JuFo: 2) Available on Academic Search Complete

International Affairs is one of the world's leading journals of international relations and one of the few to cover the entire discipline. 

All articles are reviewed by the journal's internationally recognised editorial team. Manuscripts that meet the journal's quality standards and scope are sent for double-blind peer review, usually to a minimum of two independent reviewers.

European Journal of Management Studies 

The European Journal of Management Studies is an academic, peer-reviewed, open access journal focused on diffusion of articles on all aspects of Management Studies. Published on behalf of ISEG – Lisbon School of Economics and Management, Universidade de Lisboa.

Nordic Journal of Business (JuFo: 1)

The Nordic Journal of Business is a scholarly journal that publishes original scientific research in all fields of business studies. Different aspects of business theory and practice related, among others, to accounting, corporate governance, entrepreneurship, finance, information systems, international business, management, and marketing are within the scope of the Journal.

Journal of Sustainable Business and Economics

Journal of Sustainable Business and Economics - formerly Journal of Business Administration Research - is an international, open-access, peer-reviewed journal. The journal has a mission to  explore how to  achieve sustainable development of business and economy. It provides a reliable platform for the transfer of knowledge among scholars,  and aims to encourage the discussion of innovative contributions regarding the analysis of models and strategy about sustainable business and economics.